Congratulations are in order for comedic actress Tina Fey, who is set to receive one of the country’s highest honors in comedy: the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor!

The Mark Twain Prize was first established in 1998 and recognizes people every year who have had an impact on society comparable to the “Tom Sawyer” and “Huckleberry Finn” author. Previous winners of the prestigious comedy award include Bill Cosby, Steve Martin, Whoopi Goldberg and more.

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein stated, “Like Mark Twain, Tina Fey offers her brilliance unconditionally. Throughout her career, she’s earned legions of fans for her quick, unapologetic wit and social commentary. The Kennedy Center is pleased to celebrate her broad and successful contributions to the world of comedy.”

Fey added, “I am truly thrilled to receive this honor. I assume Betty White was disqualified for steroid use.”

Fey, who made audiences laugh weekly on NBC‘s “Saturday Night Live” with her hilarious Sarah Palin impersonations, will be presented with the 13th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor this November at a ceremony in the concert hall at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Be the first to receive breaking news alerts and more stories like this by subscribing to our mailing list.