Nominations for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2012 have been released!

Ballots will be sent out to over 500 voters, who will choose the artists to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year.

The nominees are as follows:

• Beastie Boys
• The Cure
• Donovan
• Eric B. & Rakim
• Guns ‘N Roses
• Heart
• Joan Jett and The Blackhearts
• Freddie King
• Laura Nyro
• Red Hot Chili Peppers
• Rufus with Chaka Khan
• The Small Faces/The Faces
• The Spinners
• Donna Summer
• War

“The 2012 Nominees embody the broad scope of what ‘rock and roll’ means,” said Joel Peresman, President and CEO of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation.

According to the press release, in order for an artist/band to be eligible for nomination, they must have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination, which means that the 2012 nominees must have released their first recording no later than 1986.

Winners will be announced at the 27th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony to be held in Cleveland, Ohio on April 14th 2012.

The winners will be announced on April 14, 2012, at the 27th Annual Induction Ceremony, held in Cleveland, Ohio.

Visit for more details!

Be the first to receive breaking news alerts and more stories like this by subscribing to our mailing list.